Latest News

Andrew Douglas of Inverclyde AC wins Inverness Half Marathon

Andrew Douglas of Inverclyde AC won today’s Inverness Half Marathon in a time of 1 hour 7 minutes and 53 seconds. Andrew was runner up in 2010. Runner up for today’s event was Ben Livesey of Forres Harriers (1:14:26). Third across the finish line was Nick Milovsorov of Aberdeen (1:15:00).

Title holder Melissa Whyte of Inverness Harriers won the women’s race, in a time of 1 hour 20 minutes and 31 seconds. Second was Sarah Liebnitz of Inverness (1:27:10) and third was Amanda Henderson of Portobello Running Club (1:28:01).

Over 1679 runners from across the UK entered this weekend’s half marathon, with a further 863 signing up for the 5K Fun Run. Despite chilly conditions for runners, spectators at Queen’s Park Stadium gave a warm welcome to everyone crossing the finish line, following the scenic run around the Highland capital. Many of the Half Marathon runners raised cash for charity, including for the event’s four nominated charities: Highland Hospice, ABF The Soldiers’ Charity, Children 1st and Macmillan Cancer Support.

Paul Bush, OBE, chief operating officer of EventScotland, said: “Supporting the Inverness Half Marathon for the first time, under the new management of Caledonian Concepts, EventScotland looks forward to this new chapter in the event’s history and seeing the number of participants grow as the event goes from strength to strength.  Set against the picturesque backdrop of Inverness, the Half Marathon showcases the very best of Scotland’s landscapes. It is a fantastic example of why Scotland is the perfect stage for the biggest and best events that encourage and inspire its people and visitors alike to get active.”

Provost of Inverness, Councillor Jimmy Gray, said: “It’s been great to see the number of people taking part in the Inverness Half Marathon and 5K Fun Run today. It’s a win-win situation both for the charities supported by the event and the runners who benefit from a sense of achievement they derive from not only the participation but also the training necessary for the event.”

Malcolm Sutherland, race director, said: “It was great to see so many runners participating in today’s Inverness Half Marathon and 5K Fun Run – both people from the area and others who travelled to the Highlands especially for the event. It was encouraging, too, to know that many runners took the opportunity to raise cash for good causes including the event’s nominated charities.
For further information about the event and full results visit: or call 0844 8751411.


1. Andrew Douglas, Inverclyde AC (1:07:53)
2. Ben Livesey, Forres Harriers (1:14:26)
3. Nick Milovsorov, Aberdeen (1:15:00)
4. Niku Millott, Metro Aberdeen Running Club (1:16:04)
5. Gordon Lennox, Ron Hill Cambuslang Harriers (1:16:16)
6. Paul Miller, Inverness (1:18:04)

Men over 40: Paul Miller, Inverness (1:18:04)

Men over 45: Alan Reid, Peterhead Running Club (1:18:12)

Men over 50: John Goodall, Keith & District AAC (1:18:50)

Men over 55: Andrew MacLinden, Hamilton Harriers (1:21:28)

Men Over 60: Steve Varney, Kendal (1:28:55)

1. Melissa Whyte, Inverness Harriers AAC (1:20:31)
2. Sarah Liebnitz, Inverness (1:27:10)
3. Amanda Henderson, Portobello Running Club (1:28:01)
4. Bezunesh Deggefa, Aberdeen AAC (1:28:35)
5. Gillian Carr, Corstorphine AAC (1:28:43)
6. Fiona Rudkin, Aberdeen (1:28:47)

Women over 40: Elspeth Jenkins, Moray Road Runners (1:29:53)

Women over 45: Mary Johnson, Highland Hill Runners (1:37:46)

Women over 50: Martine Hughes, North Highland Harriers (1:45:47)

Women over 55: Marion Lindsay, Metro Aberdeen Running Club (1:36:57)

Women over 60: Sylvia Main, Inverness Harriers (2:14:11)

Graeme Moffat Memorial Quaich for first Inverness Harrier: Donnie MacDonald (1:18:19)

Club Prizes
Male club team
1. Inverness Harriers AAC
2. Metro Aberdeen Running Club
3. Forres Harriers

Female club team
1. Moray Road Runners
2. Inverness Harriers AAC

Winners of 5K Fun Run
Male: Craig Campbell, Inverness Harriers AAC
Female: Emma Dunnett and Oonagh Dunnett (first equal), Thurso